Chores

Chores, circa 1940A friend of mine and I were chatting about how mundane life becomes as we get older, as we take on more responsibility and with that responsibility come tasks that eat into what used to be discretionary time. Funny how it mostly creeps up on you: Not the job, but the occasional dinner meeting or “social” gathering that you feel obligated to attend, and that chews up an evening. The house with its never-ending demands for maintenance; the children (bless them!) with their never-ending demands for attention. The dishes, the laundry, the bathrooms, the vacuuming, the lawn, and this past couple of weekends, the pool, and firewood.

I do not remember how I filled my day prior to having children. I do know that the number of evenings my wife and I go out, now that the kids are in college, has only marginally increased mainly because we’re too tired to go out. I also know that my week-long summer vacation is likely to be spent away from home, so that projects needing my attention will be delayed yet again.

I know only a very few individuals who do not live like this. They tend to pick up every couple of years and move on, either to a new job, a new city, a new home/apartment, or all of these. None are married. I wonder if they are at peace with a nomadic lifestyle, or if they are in search of and never finding satisfaction in life.

I, for one, will not give up my current lifestyle. It will evolve on its own, and eventually provide me with the time to do the things I want to do. As tired as I become by day’s end I am also satisfied that I have tried my best to reach a goal or two.

2 Responses to Chores

  1. AndyM says:

    So singledom and a dynamic lifestyle immediately conjure the impression that these people are unsatisfied and without goals in life? Although it may be difficult to see things from another perspective, consider that these choices are the wave of the future in society. No longer are we so constrained by the expectation that everyone should grow roots and spend their whole lives in the same place.

  2. Paul says:

    On the contrary; I do not claim they are either unsatisfied or unsettled. I do not know, so I wonder if they are unsettled, or at peace. Big difference.

    BBD

Leave a Reply

