Empty Nesters

My youngest son went off to college yesterday.  He joins his brother, a junior, at the same college, in the same curriculum.  He will benefit from the friends he’s already made on campus through past visits to his brother.  Like his brother, he was ready for the college experience by his sophomore year in high school, and I know that both of them will enjoy their individual experiences as well as each others’ company.

My wife and I are alone together for the first time in 20 years.

While I’m somewhat ambivalent about the change at this point, I recognize that this is a big change.  My wife and I will have to get to know each other again, and plan our lives around each other rather than around our children.  I’m looking forward to the challenge, as much as I am to my kids’ next visit.

Tonight we’re breaking out the champagne to celebrate our milestone and our kids’ success.

Leave a Reply

