Sister Karen’s and Father Joe’s Legacy

I Leave PeaceprintsToday marks 16 months to the day that Sister Karen Klimczak was killed for her cell phone at the Bissonette House, named after Father Joseph Bissonette, who was murdered in his rectory in February 1987. Both had dedicated their lives to helping the marginalized. Both died at the hands of the marginalized.

In front of my house and the one directly across the street from me sits a sign that is appearing in front of many houses in Western New York. I hope that Sister Karen’s I Leave Peaceprints signs increase in popularity throughout the area – not only because of their meaning but also in lasting memory of both Sister Karen and Father Bissonette. I hope that those signs are an inspiration to us for the causes of peace and caring for others.

7 Responses to Sister Karen’s and Father Joe’s Legacy

  1. dee pigott says:

    HI, Paul Buckley!

    Am very interested in all things Sister Karen & PEACEPRINTS…
    How do I buy?

    I cannot access websites or links I have ‘googled’…
    might “hopeofbuffalo.org” &”Bissonette House” have been changed to something else?

    Trusting I’ll hear from you…

    Thank you much!
    Former Rochestarian in Virginia Beach

  2. Judy Trapp says:

    I would like to purchase the PeacePrints car magnets and lawn signs……. Do you have any information on this? Thank you.

  3. Bianca Berg-Mathiassen says:

    My memories of Sr. Karen are of a kind, warm, caring little person who gave her time, her love, her life for the upliftment of others. Her selfless devotion to the “have nots” in the neighborhood and to the residents of “Hope House” as it was known during my time, remain as a memory that made me a better person and taught me what real unconditional love really means. It is with a very heavy heart yet with gladness that I remember her and know that she is watching her Bisonette House and its residents and will always be remembered as one who gave her life for others. Sadly missed and mourned by our family here in South Africa. With much love, Bianca, husband Folke and children Claire and Mark.

  4. Sandy says:

    I THINK OF HER OFTEN AND WISH SHE WAS STILL WITH US. THE DAY I MET HER….I SAID TO MY HUSBAND (WHO HAD TO STAY IN THE BISSONETTE HOUSE FOR OVER 1 YEAR)…WE HAVE JUST MET AN ANGEL…AND YOUR BUILDING A WALL. TAKE DOWN THAT WALL AND SEE THE OPPORTUNITY YOU HAVE BEEN GIVEN – SHE IS SURELY AN ANGEL. AND SHE PROVED TO BE OVER THE YEAR AND HALF HE WAS THERE….SHE DID EVERYTHING IN HER POWER FOR ALL THAT SHE ENCOUNTERED AND I MISS HER WORDS OF WISDOM AND CARIRG NATURE. SHE WILL ALWAYS HAVE A SPOT IN MY HEART & THOUGHTS.
    SANDRA D 3/4/09

  5. Margaret Pfeiffer says:

    I was so touched to discover that Sr. Karen was there for the disfranchised population. She was a special person who sacrificed her life to give to men who were in need of love, support, and hope. I knew Fr. Joe and he married me when I was 24 years old in Buffalo, N.Y. I lived in the Commodore Perry Housing projects and FR. Joe was at St. Brigid’s parish. I can remember that he was a man of love, innocence and gentleness. When he married me I was 24 years old. I came home from Boston, MA. where I was working as a nurse.I remember him telling me he was living in a rectory near Grider Street as he sat next to me at the head wedding table. I remember telling him to be careful and please don’t be so trustworthy. He just smiled and said, “Margaret I will be fine, I am not afraid.” I was frightened for him because I was exposed to a very volatile environment as I was raised by a single parent in a housing project. The racial tension during the 60’s in the First Ward and all over the country was so frightening. I remember there were snipers shooting off the high rise buildings in the Perry Projects. The one thing I remember the most was having my loving mother, Alice Radzikowki with Fr. Joe having prayers services with people of all faiths and cultures in our small stark living room. I must say that Fr. Joseph Bissonette was one of the most kindest loving individuals that I ever met. I think of him often and this is why I googled his name tonight. I am so happy I did because I discovered that there was another angel that followed his footsteps. It was so touching to read about what Sr. Karen did for the individuals who needed a second chance. I know that the two of them are together in peace and I can’t but think of how much the two of them have touched so many individuals’ lives. I know that I was one of them as I prayed with Fr. Joe in our housing project and as an indivdual who needed that love and support as a young child.
    God Bless both of them and all of the individuals that they touched during their life time.
    Sincerely,
    Margaret Pfeiffer (Peg)

  6. myself-corp says:

    good peoples always come home (to Jesus) earlier. GB sr. Karen

  7. Elizabeth says:

    I hope to choke down The Green Patriarch, and i plan to shoot down the Patriarch of Poland to impress James Ore.

Leave a Reply

