The Business Investment Strategy

If you had some money to invest – say, a thousand dollars – and were shown a business model that demonstrated a return of five hundred dollars every year for the next 20 years, would you do it?  Do you think that would be a good investment?

Now consider if you had $25 million and could get a $250 million return over 20 years (same example as before, only using a much larger investment).  Would you still do it?

That is the business offer being put on the table by Bass Pro.  I would be wary of such an investment unless it were backed up by plenty of rationale, but I suspect that the basic strategy is probably sound or such a claim would not be made in the first place.

I have yet to hear or see a discussion about the long-term financial gains that would be realized by a project like Bass Pro.  Why is that?  Am I just not looking in the right places?   Such a discussion should be in the forefront of any debate, as economic growth is the most vital component of any investment in any business strategy.

What’s Bass Pro’s economic benefit to Buffalo?  If it really is $250 million over 20 years, then just what are we debating with regard to Canal Side, and why are we debating it?

One Response to The Business Investment Strategy

  1. Steve says:

    Paul, this is Steve Watson. I’m a reporter with The Buffalo News. I can’t find an email address on your site. So I’m leaving this message as a comment. I’d like to talk to you for a blogging-related article that I’m working on for the paper. Please email me back with a phone number at which I can reach you and I can tell you exactly what I’m writing about. Thanks, Steve

Leave a Reply

