Last Resort

A friend of mine is about to undergo two weeks of electroshock therapy.  It’s come down to that, or suicide – his depression is that seriously bad.  Electroshock therapy is generally used as a last resort, when anti-depressants and anti-psychotics don’t work.  The results are mixed, with patients’ experiences about its effectiveness all over the map.

For the past four or five years I can only define his mental state as vacuous.  When I speak with him I feel as if I’m talking to an empty shell.  A holder of several graduate degrees, he can barely string two cohesive sentences together.

He is afraid of his future.  I am afraid for him.  I hope it eventually helps his state of mind.

Leave a Reply

