The Handoff

Campus Flyover

My wife and I spent a couple of days attending our youngest son’s college orientation. He is going to be attending the same university that his older brother, an upcoming junior, is attending. The same university that I attended a generation ago.

For all the vivid recall that I have of college – of the buildings, the classrooms, the walkways, and the faces – my boys clearly have taken over the legacy of memories. They own the right to tell me the stories while I sit back and listen. We have swapped roles.

I left the campus today feeling very unattached to it.

Leave a Reply

