Password Protection

What’s got at least one capital letter, one lower-case letter and one number in it?

My password.  In fact, all of them of late.  As password protection becomes an absolute necessity, most of the computer accounts that I access require what are called strong passwords:  No formal names, no dictionary words, no common expressions.  My login at my own company is this 13-letter mix of upper and lower case, numbers and a punctuation mark thrown in for good measure.

Hindsight being 20-20, it would have served Microsoft and every financial institution well to have demanded strong passwords from the beginning of the computer revolution, as by now we would be all accustomed to it.  As it is, however, the biggest flaw in all of this is our inability to remember more than perhaps two or three strong passwords. 

I have many passwords on various accounts, so hence, I have to write them down someplace.

Last week my company moved to a new building.  I can’t for the life of me find that sheet of paper.

Leave a Reply

