Watch Mr. Wizard

Don Herbert died.

Watch Mr. WizardI know I’m dating myself when I write this, but I vaguely remember Mr. Wizard as one of the Saturday shows that I would watch as a young kid. Even at age 5 or 6 I was fascinated with science, and Mr. Wizard showed me – and a generation of nerdy kids like me – what science was all about.

I even remember this image – it was a Rube Goldberg device that lit a candle by striking a falling match against sandpaper. The thing in the middle is a balloon, as I recall.  I think the name of the boy on the left is “Timmy”.

He made science commonplace, science for the people. May he rest in peace.

2 Responses to Watch Mr. Wizard

  1. "J" says:

    That is so sad. I loved Mr. Wizard as a child. Haven’t thought about it in quite sometime, but brought back some fond memories of me and my grandmother on Saturday mornings.

  2. Paul says:

    Sigh. You just can’t find good television scientists these days. Unless you count the professor from Gilligan’s Island. And I can only see him on TV Land these days…

Leave a comment