Software Symphonies

I had two girlfriends in college (not at the same time); both were excellent musicians and they frustrated me with their ability to make music simply by tapping their fingers on a keyboard.  I was unable to make my brain translate notes from a sheet of music to sounds on a piano, and the ease with which they did it made me feel like an untalented fool, a lesser person.  I think my lack of confidence in my own abilities helped lead to the eventual breakups.

Years later after my umpteenth computer program was completed I realized that my compositions were in Fortran (later C, C++, VB, etc), and that my brain translated logic to executable code by correctly tapping my fingers on a different kind of keyboard.  Software was my creative outlet, and my “beautiful music” made neat things appear on a computer screen.

It made me feel much better.

Leave a Reply

