Nice Day

Nice Day.

I was driving over the south Grand Island bridge late this afternoon.  It was a beautiful day, wasn’t it?  Only it wasn’t very beautiful as I got to the Tonawandas.  There was this very gray haze – smog – hanging over the 190 almost all the way to the Scajaquada.  It smelled like petroleum so I figured it must have been either the Noco storage tanks or Dunlop.  The smoke and smell just hung there.

I vaguely recall, as a little boy, seeing and smelling the same haze over most of South Buffalo and Lackawanna.  As much as this area has suffered from the loss of heavy industry, I do not miss the pollution.

It was the first day in many years that I recalled a day as polluted as today.

Leave a Reply

