Still Friends after all these Years

Many years ago I was an exchange student to Brazil.  Just last week I briefly mentioned in a blog my stay in the city of Campos, near Rio de Janeiro.

Today, Mark Cashman called.  Mark and I met each other while exchange students in Campos.  We developed a close friendship down there, moved back to our respective communities (Owatonna, Minnesota for him and Holland, New York for me).  We kept in touch back then and even got together once, during my sophomore year in school.

What an adrenaline rush!  Trying to reach back past the mental cobwebs to recall little snippets, and to knit them back together into a cohesive history – in real time – is intense.  After 30 minutes of phone conversation I have a headache.

And a really big smile on my face. 

I miss these faces from my past, and I still love them all.  Someday I hope to see them again.

Leave a Reply

