Death of a Cat

Mandy, our 20-something year-old cat, died in my wife’s arms this evening.

We knew she was going; she hadn’t eaten in a week, and was barely able to lift her head today.  Yet for some reason my wife (the chaplain and nurse) decided to pick her up and hold her, and 15 minutes later the cat was gone.

Eerie, but touching.  My wife was also present at her father’s and mother’s deaths, 11 years apart, at the hospital.  We knew that they appreciated her presence.  As for the cat, I think Mandy was holding out for my wife to hold her one last time.

I hope my wife is there when it’s my turn.

4 Responses to Death of a Cat

  1. […] unknown . Excerpt: My wife was also present at her father’s and mother’s deaths, 11 years apart, at the hospital. We knew that they appreciated her presence. As for the cat, I think Mandy was holding out for my wife to hold her one last time. … […]

  2. Becky says:

    20 years! What a life! Sorry for your loss.

  3. Jen14221 says:

    So sad. Sorry. She must have had a very happy and long life with you .

  4. joe says:

    I’m so sorry, P. One of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do was have our 16 yr. old cat (who’d been with me since she was a kitten) put to sleep. It’s hard.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

